Evan’s New Knee


Most people don’t know it, but before GhostRunner I was on the road to being an Olympic competitor in Taekwondo. Sadly, I was cut down with a crippling injury before an international qualifier. The result was my early retirement and a high-grade partial tear of my ACL. Basically, if you’ve ever had an old GI Joe doll, the ones with the rubber band spines, and you stretch them the don’t go back together right. basically my knee has been an over stretched Gi Joe for the last two years.

Right after the injury I saw the doctors and made the rounds getting my X-rays, MRIs, working towards the big surgery day. Then I had an appointment for consultation with a surgeon and I couldn’t take it. I got scared of going under the knife. I couldn’t bear risking the little mobility I had. The 6 months of rehabilitation were not overly appealing either. I was young, busy, and stupid. Now I’m going back to the doctors to pick up where I left off.

ACL surgery is fairly common. It’s maybe the most common reconstruction among young people. At the time it was proposed to me I did not like the idea of grafting my hamstring through my femur and tibia by drilling up through them. The whole procedure sounded a little crazy. But Tiger Woods did it! Well if Tiger Woods suffered from chronic depression from an overbearing father would you do that too? Also the YouTube videos of people’s personal ‘scoped surgeries are really unsettling. It’s like watching some under sea exploration/ knife fight. Or a Bio-Shock trailer. Either way I really didn’t want that going on in my knee. It gave me phantom pain just looking at it.

However, now I have no more excuses left. I’m soon to be finished school so I won’t be missing much while I’m down and out. I have a bank roll and IE, or ei, or ui or whatever unemployed people get, to fall back on. And I need it. I am just sick of being a crippled mess, leaning on my knee brace, trying to out train my injury.

I go back to Sports Med at Ottawa U in July to start over, wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

